Disgruntledpatriot's Blog

February 5, 2010

Wouldn’t it be Nice?

Just once wouldn’t it be nice if a politician didn’t make any promises when they campaigned?  How great would it be to hear “I will TRY to change these things”, or “I will do my BEST to enact this reform”?  I have gotten so tired of seeing this, and even more fed up with people that buy into it.  Doesn’t anyone realize that it takes more than one person in our government to change anything?  How many campaign promises have every been met anyway?  They all, always break them, because when they get into office they get snapped into reality.

Here is one of the big ones recently, over and over again, “You can keep your doctor”.

And the truth.  Now, he may want to actually keep that promise, but it was a promise he had no business making, because in the end he doesn’t write the bills, and he alone doesn’t make law.  Also notice he says it got ‘snuck’ in there, by who?  As far as they have said, and as far as we have seen, the entire bill, in both houses is made up by democrats.  If something got snuck in there that violated his pledge, it was by his own party.

Another great one is executive orders.  Obama said he would not use this unlawful and unconstitutional practice.

And then at the State of the Union address he flips completely over.  Skip ahead to 4:17 if you don’t want to watch Glenn Beck, or listen to his analysis of the State of the Union.

Not trying to pick on just the President here, but his example is the most noticeable, and for millions, the most disappointing.  There is more than the two examples above, and it isn’t hard to find them.  Lied about not having lobbyists working for him, lied about getting every American covered by universal HC (even if it does pass many millions will still be uninsured), lied about lowering premiums (both bills are projected to raise premiums), lied about closing Gitmo (glad on this one, they would be better off trying the prisoners there than attempting to move them, would have been quicker), lied about ending the war in 2009 (again probably a good thing, if you think we looked bad going to war, how bad would we look if we didn’t clean up our mess before we left), and on and on.  Let me be clear, every politician that I know of has done this over and over again.  I don’t pay attention to them all, but at least the ones I have seen, have a habit of breaking promises, the law, and the constitution.

One that I can think of might actually have some sense.  I think it’s Jason Chaffetz of Utah, who refuses to bring home earmarks for his district, and sleeps in his office as opposed to having an apartment in D.C.  He does not believe in wasteful spending.  Now, he may not be a good example, he is not my representative, nor even in my state so I only know what I can read.

One other thing I would like to see.  No more campaigning on what the last guy, or the other guy, did wrong.  I want a politician that refuses to play those school-yard games.  With elections coming this year I am just disgusted with the things I see on TV.  I want to hear what the candidate believes in, not what he has to say about his opponent.  I want to hear how they plan to fix things, not how the last guy broke it.  Wouldn’t it be nice if that happened just once?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

