Disgruntledpatriot's Blog

April 26, 2010

Lack of civil discourse and ex-journalists

Filed under: Sick and Tired — Trever Bierschbach @ 2:29 pm
Tags: ,

What an interesting day!  Apparently this morning’s post pulled the short hairs of an ex-journalist named Billy Dennis.  He felt the need to link to, quote, and screen capture this blog.  By the way ladies and gents, I say what I mean only, I don’t beat around the bush or hint.  I certainly don’t change posts to cover anything up, because I am never ashamed of my views or what I believe.  You can read the post here.

Now since the big brain on our college educated ex-journalist couldn’t seem to wrap around my words to make any sense out of them (like that sentence?  that goes out to Billy boy), I feel the need to explain.  I mean how can I expect my audience to get it if the ex-journalist can’t?  Ahh, who am I kidding, my audience doesn’t care that much so this is just for ol’ Billy.

Here is how english works, and writing in our language, from the perspective of an author.  Let’s take the sentences in question.

“Funny because Ardis is a Republican Mayor, you would think that he would be concerned about everyone paying so that his city could remain fiscally responsible.  Maybe he signed up for the wrong party.”

Ok, the first sentence mentions the Mayor’s political affiliation.  It’s the first time I mention it and then I go on to question his commitment to fiscal responsibility, which is supposed to be a republican view right?  Then the second sentence, maybe he signed up for the wrong party, because to me it seems that Ardis is more concerned about appealing to the party in power, or the political view, than what is fiscally responsible.

Apparently though, I must have said that Ardis didn’t stand up for republicans.  I don’t see those words there, but let’s go with that for a second.  Let’s say that ol’ Billy is in fact psychic, and knows exactly what I meant when I typed that.  (Not that I care one whit about republicans or democrats) Am I saying that he should charge democrats and not republicans?  No, not that.  Am I saying that the city needs to bring in more republicans and less democrats?  No, not that either.  I just can’t see it.

Here is the point for our educated ex-journalist.  Fair is fair as progressives like to say.  Even playing field, everyone shoulders the burden, you are your brother’s keeper, all those progressive talking points.  If fair is fair then it shouldn’t matter what political party someone belongs to, if they are invited by a venue to visit, the venue should budget for the costs.  If they come on their own, with no invitation, then they should foot the bill.  The whole point of the post was to show that one party voluntarily, or is forced, to pay, while the other is not.  I only mention Ardis because he commented on the distinction himself back when Obama visited CAT, otherwise I could have made the same point without him.

Funny thing is, I was accused by ol’ Billy of being hard on democrats because of a post where I was giving it to a republican.  I am banned from his blog, for being civil, I am called a Troll.  I tried to make a final post to invite him here anytime (I don’t ban people who disagree with me, but I certainly would if they talked like he did in one of his posts so keep it clean boys and girls).   I intended to paste the response here, but I copied and pasted something else so I will just have to say Billy if you visit, welcome.  Comment but keep it clean, we don’t tolerate your kind of attitude and I certainly don’t abuse my admin powers by cussing at someone, then calling them a Troll and banning them.  Enjoy the blog.

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for the input.

    Comment by Billy Dennis — April 26, 2010 @ 7:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

